Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. 

Delta Xi Sigma Alumnae Chapter


Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. was organized on November 12, 1922 in Indianapolis, Indiana by seven young educators: Mary Lou Allison Little, Dororthy Hanley Whiteside, Vivian White Marbury, Nannie Mae Gahn Johnson, Hattie Mae Dulin Redford, Bessie M. Downey Martin and Cubena McClure.

Incorporated on December 3o, 1929 as a national collegiate sorority, when a charter was granted to the Alpha Chapter at Butler University, the sorority was founded in the midst of segregation. Sigma Gamma Rho is the only sorority of the four historically African-American sororities to be established on a predominantly white college campus. As one of the founders of the National Pan Hellenic Council, Sigma Gamma Rho continues in its efforts to remove barriers and promote equity through community outreach, civic service and education.


Sigma Gamma Rho has become an international service organization and is welcoming of women of every profession and diverse backgrounds. Members are afforded opportunities to develop their talents through service and leadership training and implementation of sorority activities. Sisterhood gives way to the development of professional contacts which often lead to lifetime bonds of friendship.


The sorority's commitment to service is expressed in its slogan, "Greater Service, Greater Progress."